Crazy about Christie

I am a huge Agatha Christie fan. I have read all her detective titles including her biography Come Tell Me How You Live. So, imagine my luck when I chanced upon these at the Sharjah Children’s Reading Festival 2013.

Dubai-20130427-01035

These books took me back to my school days when I would get obsessed reading her novels. If I had issued an Agatha Christie from the library (and this happened quite often) I could think nothing else but how fast I could reach the last page. This meant I would be found reading at the dining table, in the quilt, quietly at night, through holidays foregoing homework. In short I would be possessed unless I finished it.

Although these titles that she wrote under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott are not crime thrillers I went through the same obsession. Besides of course the igneous plots what I like about her books are that they are peppered with insights into the many shades of the human mind. Her close observations of human nature and life in general are weaved together in the stories and into her characters.

It seems she wrote anonymously as Mary Westmacott because she wanted to prove to herself that her books could sell on merit rather than on her fame alone. For me whatever name she may choose her books remain compelling reads forcing me to turn one page after another. Looking forward to laying my hands on the rest of the four titles in this series. And when I do deadlines and household chores can take a break 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Richa
    May 09, 2013 @ 13:10:19

    Hey Tessy even I went to the Reading Festival only on Friday last. Though my baby is just 15months we still had fun with the polar beer manequins in the igloo, 🙂 It was awesome.

    Reply

  2. Tessy
    May 14, 2013 @ 12:04:26

    Did you see their shows — they had a spectacular Wizard of Oz show.

    Reply

  3. Richa
    May 14, 2013 @ 17:24:43

    oh yes we did…though my little one didn’t let us sit through the complete show.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

